Patchesofsunshine

Style is influence, passion and beauty.

Gimme Gimme [pastels, florals, stripes!] April 6, 2009

Filed under: Inspiration,Wishlist — patchesofsunshine @ 4:09 pm

It’s really really annoying when people simply say “It’s vintage!” or that they went to vintage stores rather than thrift stores.  I mean, if it’s only 5 years old… it’s not vintage.  If it’s from, say, Zara…it’s not vintage.  Not only is it not vintage but you sound really stupid saying it is, as if you’re trying too hard. I love shopping second hand but I doubt anything I have ever bought that way has been more than 10 years old. (NOTE the fact that I’m talking about this pet peeve and then showing pictures from Fashion Squad makes it sound like I’m complaining about her use of the word ‘vintage’… I promise you I’m not! I did not mean for it to sound that way.  She pointed out that certain items she bought second hand couldn’t be considered vintage… so of course I’m not calling her stupid or anything of the sort! I adore her blog. I apologize for the misunderstanding though. :( …Thank you to my commenter for bringing this to my attention.) It’s not so much within the blogosphere that I notice this going on but in magazines!

Anyway, wanted to share this picture from The Fashion Squad.  Looove the outfits!

bikbok-3
bikbok-9
bikbok-12
bikbok-8
I WANT IT ALLLLL but especially the floral and stripes.

This is my American Apparel wish list.  I made a list of 45 things to do this year (sort of my idea of a new years resolution) and one of them is to purchase something from AA. That sounds silly, I know, but I never treat myself to anything from their store because I never feel like I deserve to spend $30+ on my self for a clothing item.  So I’m kind of determined to do so this year…

aa
I’m leaning towards the skort, actually. haha

 

4 Responses to “Gimme Gimme [pastels, florals, stripes!]”

  1. Erica Says:

    It’s pretty obvious that you’re talking about fashionsquads recent post on stuff she bought, but I don’t really see what you’re complaining about since it specifically says in the text that the Zara blazer + some other stuff aren’t vintage? It’s pretty amusing that you think she’s soo stupid when you’re the one who apparently didn’t bother to read the whole text.

    Anyway, I don’t even know why I bothered wasting time on this, but you know, it’s really, really annoying when people simply don’t get their facts straight. That said, I really like your blog, and I love the pictures of fashionsquad for Bik Bok, I need to get my hands on that flowery dress she’s wearing in the last picture!!! :)

    xoxo,
    Erica

    • patchesofsunshine Says:

      I wasn’t referring to Fashion Squad! I love her site; I would never be cruel like that to her. She simply reminded me of my pet peeve so I thought I’d mention it. Like you said, she did say that those items couldn’t be considered vintage… I did read the whole entry. I’m sorry you thought I was calling her stupid, I wasn’t. I’ll definitely make a note in my blog in case anyone else read it that way! Again, sorry! I should have explained myself better :/

  2. Nonsense Of The Truth Says:

    love the pictures! :)

  3. bonnie Says:

    oh so lovely! Makes me yearn for summer.


Leave a Reply

